North of England Neurological Association North of England Neurological Association

51st Annual General Meeting
Majestic Hotel, Harrogate
26th November 2011


1. Minutes of the 50th AGM

These were agreed as a true representation

2. Matters Arising

Website - Peter Goulding announced that the new website is now up and running. Jenny Loughlin is the webmaster. Several members have used the website and found the information both useful and interesting. It was agreed that a NENA junior member’s page should be established to include details of NENA sponsorship to attend the annual meeting and of NENA travel grants. There was no enthusiasm for adding full power-point presentations to each NENA annual meeting program.

3. Officers of the Association 2011


President Prof David Chadwick
President Elect Mr Sid Marks
Secretary Dr Peter Goulding
Treasurer Dr Philip Tidswell
Council Member (Newcastle)  Dr Tim Williams
Council Member (Hull)  Dr Fayyaz Ahmed
Council Member (Sheffield)  Dr Ptolomy Sarrigiannis
Council Member (Manchester) Dr Paul Cooper
Council Member (Preston) Dr Christopher Coutinho
Council Member (Liverpool) Dr Peter Enevoldson
Council Member (Middlesbrough) Dr Simon Taggart


Dr Peter Enevoldson, retiring council member for Liverpool was thanked for his support of NENA over the past eight years.

4. Treasurer’s Report

The accounts were distributed by Philip Tidswell. There was a positive balance of £5,583.41 mostly held in the deposit account. A travel grant of £400 had been awarded to Dr Blackburn to help him present his research at the ABN meeting in Cuba.

5. Any Other Business

Peter Goulding announced the deaths of two former NENA members, Dr David Bowsher and Dr Nigel Jordan. 

There followed a discussion on ways to improve NENA attendance of trainees in neuroscience. Dr Goulding agreed to explore links to the NENA website from the ABN, SBNS and various trainee websites. Council members agreed to appoint a local trainee neurologist and neurosurgeon a facilitate NENA attendance in each area of the North of England.

6. This years' prize winners

Liversedge Prize Dr Tom Webb - Leeds
Crawford Prize Dr T K Khoo - Newcastle
NENA Magnum Drs P Sarrigiannis and M Hadjivassiliou - Sheffield


7. Next Year’s Meeting

November 23rd and 24th 2012 – Hosts Liverpool