North of England Neurological Association North of England Neurological Association

52nd Annual General Meeting
Majestic Hotel, Harrogate
24th November 2012


1. Minutes of the 51st AGM

These were agreed as a true representation

2. Matters Arising

Website - Peter Goulding has written to the secretaries of the ABN and SBNS about links to the NENA website. No response has been received as yet. Contact will be made with Dr Biba Stanton, Chair of the ABNT requesting a similar link.  Local Neurosurgical and SpR officers - council members were encouraged to seek volunteers in these areas.

3. Officers of the Association 2012


President Mr Sid Marks
President Elect Professor Pamela Shaw
Secretary Dr Peter Goulding
Treasurer Dr Fayyaz Ahmed
Council Member (Newcastle)  Dr Tim Williams
Council Member (Hull)  Dr Fayyaz Ahmed
Council Member (Sheffield)  Dr Ptolomy Sarrigiannis
Council Member (Manchester) Dr Paul Cooper
Council Member (Preston) Dr Christopher Coutinho
Council Member (Liverpool) Dr Udo Wieshmann
Council Member (Middlesbrough) Dr Simon Taggart


Peter Goulding informed members that the previous NENA treasurer, Philip Tidswell has had to resign because of illness. Members wished Philip all the best with his treatment and thanked him for all his hard work for NENA over the past decade. Fayyaz Ahmed was welcomed as the new NENA treasurer.

4. Treasurer’s Report

The accounts were distributed by Fayyaz Ahmed. There was a positive balance of £6,056 in the current account and £5,539 in the deposit account.

5. Any Other Business


6. This year's prize winners:

Liversedge Prize Dr Johnathan Cooper-Knock - Sheffield
Crawford Prize Mr Farouk Olubajo - Sheffield/Hull
NENA Magnum Dr David Mckee - Manchester


7. Next Year’s Meeting

November 29th and 30th 2013 – Hosts Leeds.